Friday June 4th

Took a drive down to Cherry Hill today to take in the IRA. Unfortunately the Princeton Varsity didn’t make the grand final. Not really sure what happened to them though the fact that they were running level with everyone for the first 500 tells me that they may have spent a little too much in the beginning. Also, the fact that some of the guys were out at reunions last week may have played a part. I don’t know if it effected them physically but I’m sure it had a psychological effect. Any-who… It was a great first year for Greg. I can’t wait to see the Tigers after a couple more years when Greg’s culture change takes hold. Watch out UW no amount of foreigners will help.

While I was down there I ran into Allan Amico’s parents. Well, actually, I was the one who stepped in to shoo Allan along so that he could get some recovery. Once again I was left trying to explain to parents recovery strategies so that they aren’t offended when their child is told to not hang out with them. I went through it with my own parents my freshman year and I’m not sure that they understand even now. So, I thought that I would try to explain recovery strategies so that if there are any parents out there feeling slighted by their child after a race they can learn why its important that their child properly recover.

When I finish a race and I have another one coming up either that day or the next recovery is the first thing on my mind. Bananas, cliff/power bars, and Gatorade are all great recovery foods. What you’re looking for is a pretty good mix of simple sugars and some carbs. a gatorade might be too sweet to handle but some sort of electrolyte recovery is important. After that, or if the food is not handy a spin on the erg for about 10-20 minutes is very important to both flush out your legs but also stimulate blood flow and generate some “active recovery”. After those 20 minutes I would head back to wherever I’m staying and hunker down and get off my feet and if I’m lucky I take an ice bath. After all of that, when the business of rowing is done, I will see my family, but at a regatta I’m an athlete first.

About Steven Coppola

I'm a rower with the US rowing team. I've been doing this for about 10 years now and have recently decided to explore the world of blogging
This entry was posted in Rowing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Friday June 4th

  1. aunt vodka says:

    add chocolate milk to your list as a great recovery food.

  2. Thats another great one. But, it doesn’t always sit right with some people. I actually prefer it after a very long AM row, but the protein and sugar from the milk take a back seat to simple sugars and carbs for my between race snacks.

Leave a Reply

