Surviving the Reps in Lucerne

Today we went and raced the Repechage. If you’re wondering what a rep is, it is French for “to rescue”. It was a hard fight the whole way but we did what we wanted to do. We were close on the Brits and about 3 seconds ahead of the Italians.

Last night I watched our race from Gifu in 2005 to try to see what I could remember from it. Today, in the first 500, my only thought was “what would Dan Beery Do?” (WWDBD). All I was focused on was hearing his voice in my head going: “Whip it”. That kept us in the race because quite a few of us were thinking that. Then we settled into the race. By 750 to go I was just hearing Deakin in my head saying 2 minutes to go. Thats all I was thinking about.

Tomorrow we do the same thing and put ourselves in the hunt for a medal.

I probably wont update again until I get back to the good Ole U S and A so I’ll see yall next week.

About Steven Coppola

I'm a rower with the US rowing team. I've been doing this for about 10 years now and have recently decided to explore the world of blogging
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

